Hand Lettering Horror

…well not that horrible. Just tedious. For typography class we have to pick a a song, a phrase from that song, an art movement, and hand letter that phrase while taking inspiration from the movement.

I picked Bruises, by the band Chairlift, a song that I’ve held dear for a while. The music is bright and electronic in style, so I immediately though of electronic art, specifically the sculpture by Nam June Paik, Electronic Super Highway. I love the way that the lights seem to vibrate, and I wanted to try to capture the emotion of the song with the intoxicating colors.

nam-june-paiks-electronic-superhighway

I hand lettered my phrase very carefully, using a grid structure as my basis. It took eight hours just to complete the first two lines, and twelve hours for the total thing! Here’s the full phrase with just pencil work.

Screen Shot 2015-02-06 at 1.11.21 PM

 

Screen Shot 2015-02-06 at 3.06.05 PM

The next step be to use neon inks to make the letters seem like electronic lights, and “melt” the last three words by blowing the ink downward. I’m very excited to get to the final product!

Erin

Hand Lettering Horror

One thought on “Hand Lettering Horror

Leave a Reply

