Daily Routine

This week I created a short photo series that I art directed, designed, and shot. The theme was self identity, and I tried to capture a few different angles, including being female, being an adult, and growing up brown in a white community. Within the three photos it gives a little taste of each. It was a lot of fun shooting in a studio, and I’d love to experiment more in the future.

This first photo composes red beauty products against the “regimented” background of a green cutting matte. In the center framed by the objects in a strip from a birth control pack, which implies daily routine of the most thought of sort. But it also implies the prettiness of being female against the more ignored things, like medication or hormones.

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 11.42.13 PM

The next piece juxtaposes two different ideas, culture (where I was born vs what I was born as) and age (growing up vs staying young). The jewelry is a bracelet from when I was very young from my aubuelita and a necklace from now. There is the package of birth control pills vs candy. And it’s framed by two growing plants.

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 11.42.39 PM

The last is a picture of me cutting shapes out of bread, cutting them to fit a “mold”. Once cut, I flipped the bread to it’s white side, to imply hiding the brownness of the bread just like I tried to assimilate in my community.

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 11.42.49 PM

 

That’s it for now!

Erin

Daily Routine

Leave a Reply

